Session 03- ACME

Special Session on Advances in Computational Methods in Electromagnetics, Antenna Design, and Applications

(ACME 2011)

Call for Papers and Participation

As part of

The 2011 International Conference on High Performance Computing & Simulation

(HPCS 2011)

July 4 – 8, 2011

Istanbul, Turkey or

In Conjunction With

The International Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing Conference (IWCMC 2011)

(Submission Deadline: February 28, 2011)


The special session on Advances in Computational Methods in Electromagnetics, Antenna Design, and Applications (ACME 2011) provides an international forum for reporting progress and recent advances in computational techniques and simulation tools used in electromagnetics and antenna design and Applications.

Topics of interest include, but are not restricted to the following areas:

  • Numerical Methods (MoM, FDTD, FEM, TLM, etc.)

  • Fast and Efficient Computational Methods in Electromagnetics

  • Hybrid Methods

  • Optimization Techniques

  • Modeling of Complex Mediums

  • Modeling of Electrically-large Structures

  • EM Simulation Tools

  • High-performance Computing in EM

  • Parallel Computing in EM

  • GPU Computing for EM

  • Printed Antennas

  • Multi-band and wide-band Antennas

  • Antenna Arrays and Smart Antennas

  • Aperture Antennas

  • Miniaturization of Antennas

  • Embedded Antennas

  • MEMS/Nano Technology for Antennas

  • Reconfigurable Antennas

  • Millimeter wave antenna

  • Broad/Multi-band Antennas

  • Antenna Arrays

  • Millimeter-wave and Terahertz Antennas

  • RF and Microwave Circuits


You are invited to submit original and unpublished research papers on the above and other topics related to Computational Electromagnetics and Antenna Technology. Submitted papers must not have been published or simultaneously submitted elsewhere. Submission should include a cover page with authors' names, affiliation addresses, fax numbers, phone numbers, and authors email addresses. Please, indicate clearly the corresponding author. Submit a PDF copy of your full manuscript, not to exceed 7 double-column IEEE formatted pages, and include up to 6 keywords and an abstract of no more than 450 words. Additional pages will be charged additional fee. Each paper will receive a minimum of three reviews. At least one of the authors of each accepted paper must register and attend the HPCS 2011 conference to present the paper at the session. Accepted papers will be published in the conference proceedings. Papers should be submitted as email attachments to Session Organizer at Your submission will be acknowledged within 48 hours. If accepted, final papers will follow the format that HPCS 2011 follows which will be posted on the web site. For final camera-ready manuscript, please follow the submission guidelines described in the HPCS 2011 website:

If you have any questions about paper submission or this special session, please contact the special session organizer at

Important Dates:


Prof. Karim Y. Kabalan

Professor and Chairman

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

American University of Beirut, Bliss St., Beirut 1107 2020 Lebanon

TEL: +961 (0) 1 374 444 Extension 3520/3521

FAX: +961 (0) 1 744 462



All submitted papers will be rigorously reviewed by the session International Program Committee members. ACME will maintain identical standards for integrity and reviewing.

  • Prof. Sharul Kamal Abdul Rahim, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Malaysia

  • Prof. Majeed Alkanhal, King Saud University, Saudi Arabia

  • Prof. Ali F. Almutairi, Kuwait University, Kuwait

  • Prof. Ercument Arvas, Syracuse University, New York, USA

  • Prof. Christos Christodoulou, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, USA

  • Prof. Ali El-Hajj, American University of Beirut, Lebanon

  • Prof. Said El Khamy, Alexandria University, Egypt

  • Prof. Debatosh Guha, University of Calcutta, India

  • Prof. Hassan A.N. Hejase, United Arab Emirates University, Al-Ain, UAE

  • Prof. Amer Jalloul, Alcatel-Lucent, Naperville, IL, USA

  • Prof. Loay D. Khalaf, The University of Jordan, Jordan

  • Prof. Shahwan Khoury, Notre dame University, Lebanon

  • Prof. Elias M. Nassar, Notre Dame University, Lebanon

  • Prof. Mazen Saghir, Texas A&M University, Qatar

  • Prof. Levent Sevgi, Dogus University, Istanbul, Turkey

  • Prof. Mazin Sliety, Lawrence Technological University, Michigan, USA

  • Prof. Asim Egemen Yilmaz, Ankara University, Turkey

If you have any questions about the conference paper submission, please consult the conference web site at or contact Conference Program Chair: Waleed W. Smari, Voice: +1 (937) 681-0098, Fax: + 1 (937) 255-4511, Email: